This is the "Home" page of the "Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives  

Last Updated: Jan 19, 2017 URL: http://limcollege.libguides.com/Archives Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Recent Acquisitions and News from the Archives

The LIM College Archives is growing! Since Spring 2016, the Archives has acquired six new donations, including historical magazines, textiles, lookbooks, French resources, and materials about handknitting. Our new acquisitions will be updated monthly.

 

Welcome to the LIM College Archives

Mission
The LIM College Archives identifies, collects, documents, preserves, and promotes access to the enduring records of LIM College and materials related to the fashion industry. We provide resources to students, faculty, and researchers that foster learning and creativity with a global perspective.

 

LIM College Archives & Special Collections
The LIM College Archives is part of the Adrian G. Marcuse Library at LIM College and is located on the 14th floor of Maxwell Hall. With a refurbished space, the Archives is expanding its services to faculty and students. We are teaming up with instructors to create lesson plans and identify resources that will help to enrich learning in the classroom. We have materials for fashion history, fashion magazines, graphics and design, language, marketing/branding, textiles, and visual merchandising, to name a few. We also work closely with the Adrian G. Marcuse Library to build lesson plans, using archival resources in conjunction with our library materials. 

As we continue to meet the research needs of LIM’s students and faculty, we are also excited about providing increased access to researchers and building new partnerships within the fashion industry. We welcome researchers, professionals, educators, and those who are interested in learning more about the fashion business to visit the LIM College Archives. Please see our Visiting the Archives page for more information and to schedule a visit. 

 

Shared Shelf
In fall 2016, the LIM College Archives will be launching our collections digitally through Shared Shelf, which is part of our Artstor database (http://library.artstor.org/library/#1). Shared Shelf will serve our entire LIM College community and allow us to build new teaching resources and archive our history and special collections. If you are interested in learning more about our services and Shared Shelf, please contact the LIM College Archives.  

 

This image from the 1970s captures our students out in the industry learning about the fashion business. LIM College's field trips reflect our long history in experiential learning. Photo from the Adrian G. Marcuse Collection/LIM College Archives.

Joanna Lamaida

Profile Image
Joanna Lamaida
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Send Email
Chat:
Ask-a-Librarian Online Live and Interactive Reference
Monday - Thursday:
12:00 - 4:00 pm (EST)
6:30 - 8:30 pm (EST)*
Friday:

12:00 - 4:00 pm (EST)*
Saturday:
11:00 am - 3:00 pm (EST)*
*Fall and Spring semesters
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip