FIND: Hoover's OnlineFIND: Mergent OnlineFIND: PrivCo
FIND: Business Insights: EssentialsFIND: Business Source CompleteFIND: Mergent IntellectFIND: First Research (Mergent)FIND: Demographics NowFIND: Mintel
FIND: Harper's Bazaar ArchiveFIND: The Vogue ArchiveFIND: WWD ArchiveFIND: WWD
This is the "Starting Company Research" page of the "Company Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Company Research   Tags: company, corporation, private company, public company, research  

Last Updated: Jan 10, 2017 URL: http://limcollege.libguides.com/companyresearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Starting Company Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Company Overviews

Begin with company overviews using these databases:

Profiles of U.S. and international companies.

Profiles of U.S. and international companies, including company descriptions, financial statements and annual reports. 

  - PrivCo provides financial data on major privately-held companies. 

Note: Images are linked.

 

In-depth Company Research

Do more in-depth research by searching these databases:

Country economic data, company profiles, industry information, and market research.

Profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals.

Detailed industry reports, business statistics, and company profiles.

-A highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.

  Business Journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings, practical guides, and sample business plans.

Note: Images are linked.

 

News/Article Databases

Search for news and additional articles in these databases:

 - AtoZ the World: Business is a comprehensive country-by-country resource for international business and trade. Contains detailed country data on business and trade environments, current economic climate, statistical rankings, and taxation. Extensive business-culture content, including country-specific guides to negotiating and detailed trade-compliance information. 

A comprehensive, searchable archive of every page, advertisement, and cover of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from 1867. Reproduced in high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and indexing, this resource provides access to a chronicle of 20th century American and international fashion, culture, and society.  Please note: coverage currently spans January 1969 - August 2015.  

  - Provides federated searching to numerous databases. Some of the databases include: Academic OneFile and Expanded Academic ASAP.

Trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports, and videos. Can be used to access current and past issues of The New York Times and Wall Street Journal

 - A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month.

Online version of the fashion trade publication Women's Wear Daily. Provides full-text access to articles dating back to 1994. The current day's issue is provided in PDF form.

Note: Images are linked.

 

How to Start Researching a Company or Brand

 Hoovers Online is a good database to start with for company research. 

If you can answer the questions below about the company/ brand you are researching, the library will recommend using different databases based on the company type. 

1.) What type of company is it?   

  • Public company?
  • Private company? 
  • Subsidiary or brand of a parent company (owned/part of a larger company)?

2.) Where is the company based?

  • USA?
  • International? 

 


Public Companies based in the USA

Databases to use: Hoovers, Mergent Online or Business Insights Essentials.  

  

Public companies based in the United States must report information to the Securities and Exchange commission.  You should have little difficulty finding the company background, sales volume and competition. 

 


Private Comapnies 

Databases to use: PrivCo, Hoovers, Mergent Online and Business Insights Essentials. 

  

  

Private companies, whether they are based in the USA or internationally are not required to release information.  Databases like PrivCo specialize in finding information on private companies.  The amount of information available and how current the information is depends on each company.  Some private companies have more available information than others. You will have to use multiple business databases and articles to find private company information. 

 


International Public Companies 

Databases to use: Hoovers, Mergent Online, Global Market Information Database and Business Insights Essentials. 

 

 

 

International public companies may not have as much information available as public companies based in the USA but you should have little difficulty finding company background, sales volume and competition.   

 


Subsidiaries 

Follow the same database recommendations based on the type of company (public,private, international public).  

  • Sometimes subsidiaries or brands owned by a parent company will have their own profile in the business databases.
  • We suggest using the subsidiary profile in conjunction with the parent company profile.
  • For subsidiaries whether they are public or private you will most likely have to use multiple business databases and articles to find information.

Database for Articles 

Business Source Complete 

 

 

WWD.com

Lauren Gavin

Profile Image
Lauren Gavin
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Send Email
Chat:
Ask-a-Librarian Online Live and Interactive Reference
Monday - Thursday:
12:00 - 4:00 pm (EST)
6:30 - 8:30 pm (EST)*
Friday:

12:00 - 4:00 pm (EST)*
Saturday:
11:00 am - 3:00 pm (EST)*
*Fall and Spring semesters
 

Ask-a-Librarian Online Live and Interactive Reference

AAL Hours

Monday - Thursday:  

12:00 - 4:00 pm (EST) 

6:30 - 8:30 pm (EST)*

Friday:

12:00 - 4:00 pm (EST)*

Saturday: 

11:00 am - 3:00 pm (EST)*

Use our chat box or text us a question:  

646-832-4546 (646-832-4LIM). 

*Fall and Spring semesters

Chat loading...
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip